diTii.com Digital News Hub

Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about latest news and more.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp (more information)

Jan122019

YouTube Removing Automatic Sharing to Twitter and Google+ on January 31st

YouTube has announced that starting on January 31st, it will be removing the ability that enables automatic sharing of YouTube videos on Twitter and Google+ after they’ve been published for public view.

YouTube has notified creators about this feature will be going away as on January 31st.

The feature was launched years ago and allowed YouTube creators to automatically post their public activity on social media including both Google+ and Twitter.

The company says sharing on social network sites is better when it accompanies a customized message with features, like @mentions.

Presumably, with this change, YouTube is making efforts to encourage more manual sharing vs auto-sharing as it writes,

“Overall, this provides a better experience for both you and your followers vs automatically generated posts.”

Since then, we’ve found that social sharing works better when the message is more customized and takes advantage of social media features, such as @mentions.

Now that automatic sharing is going away, YouTue says users can still share videos on social networking sites by making use of the “Share” button.

In addition to users, creators will also have an option to post on social networks and platforms right after a new video is uploaded successfully.

YouTube reminds that the ability to add social media links to channel banner will remain available to creators.

That said, creators will still be able to add a link to their Twitter profile directly from Channel -> About tab -> Customize channel -> Links.

Here are the details of the announcement:

Automatic sharing to Twitter via YouTube Settings -> Connected apps -> “Share your public activity to Twitter” will no longer available.

The company notes, removal of public activity sharing will have no effect on “items already shared on Twitter.”

A screenshot below showing how automatic sharing of YouTube activity to Twitter works:

Automatic sharing of YouTube activity to Twitter

After January 31st, users will also not see the option to automatically share on Google+ and Twitter in uploads or Creator Studio.

“You’ll also no longer see the option to automatically share your video on Google+ and Twitter via the upload flow in Creator Studio.”

Here is a screenshot of showing automatic sharing to Twitter and Google+ via uploads or Creator Studio:

Automatic sharing to Twitter and Google+ via uploads or Creator Studio

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Get Latest News

Subscribe to Digital News Hub

Get our daily newsletter about the latest news in the industry.
First Name
Last Name
Email address
Secure and Spam free...