Facebook announced a array of improvements that make it easier to share posts, photos, tags and other content with exactly the people you want. The main change is moving most of your controls from a settings page to being inline, right next to the posts, photos and tags they affect.
The new controls will roll out on Thursday and will be supported by lots of material, FAQs and videos to explain them in more detail to users. However many things will be relatively intuitive.
Here’s what’s coming up, organized around following areas:
- Making privacy and sharing controls more explicit (rather than several clicks away)
- Making those sharing controls available on an update by update basis, inline
- Offering users more control over photo tagging and choice over what content appears on their profiles
On Your Profile
The profile is getting some new tools to provide clearer, more consistent controls over how photos and posts get added to it, and who can see everything that lives there.
- Content on your profile, will now appear next to an icon and a drop-down menu. This inline menu lets you know who can see this part of your profile, and you can change it with one click. As a result, you will now have much shorter and simpler Settings page. A bunch of settings that were there previously have been moved directly inline, and a handful have been replaced or removed.
- You can now choose to use new tool to approve or reject any photo or post you are tagged in before it’s visible to anyone else on your profile.
- You have the option to review and approve or reject any tag someone tries to add to your photos and posts.
This The tool is now on the top of your profile where it’s easier to access.
When You Share
“Now if you want to make your posts more expressive, you can add location and tag the people you’re with. The control for who can see each post will be right inline. For each audience, there is now an icon and label to help make it easier to understand and decide who you’re sharing with. Also, when you tag someone, the audience label will automatically update to show that the person tagged and their friends can see the post,” explains Facebook.
This dropdown menu will be expanding over time to include smaller groups of people you may want to share with, like co-workers, Friend Lists you’ve created, and Groups you’re a member of.
If you’re posting to Facebook from a phone or app that does not yet support inline controls, your setting will be the same as it is today. You can change this with a new setting available on your privacy settings page.
For the content to be more descriptive the lable “Everyone” has been changed to “Public”.
Now you’ll be able to change who can see any post after the fact. If you accidentally posted something to the wrong group, or changed your mind, you can adjust it with the inline control at any time.
You can add tags of your friends or anyone else on Facebook. If you are ever tagged by a non-friend, it won’t appear on your profile unless you review and approve the post.
Now you can add location to anything. Lots of people use Facebook to talk about where they are, have been or want to go. Now you can add location from anywhere, regardless of what device you are using, or whether it is a status update, photo or Wall post. Of course, you can always choose not to add location at all.
Facebook says that they will be phasing out the mobile-only Places feature. Settings associated with it are also being phased out or removed.
Your options for removing tags or content on Facebook are presented more clearly. Your options are: removing from your profile, removing the tag itself, messaging the photo owner or tagger, and requesting the content get taken down.