Google+ revceived a number of significant visual, some profile and page updates, include: the first thing, you will notice when you sign-in is a prompt to change the cover image with bigger cover photos, and a better aspect ratio.
“Cover photos are much larger than before (up to 2120px by 1192px), and they display in 16×9 when fully expanded,” google informs. Google notes this change allow more images to be use as cover photos, and there’s “more room for your selection to shine.”
A new tab for all your Local reviews — highlight your favorite restaurants, or hide the tab completely via settings — it’s completely up to you.
In addtion, Google has made it easier to edit your information witht the new “About” tab now consists of separate cards such as “Story, Places, and Links” — each with its own prominent edit link.
As always you can share specific fields with specific circles, or keep them just for you.
Additionally, Google has quietly revamped the hovercards that appear when you hover over a user’s avatar on the site. The new hovercards are also now significantly larger and feature your cover photo. In addition, you can use them to initiate a Hangout, send an email to the person and to start a text chat.
Google is rolling these updates gradually.
Check more photos under the post.
Field Trip, Google’s location-based mobile application has just made its way to the iTunes App Store.
The app runs in the background on your phone and brgins the cool, hidden, and unique things in the world around on you iOS devices.
“When you get close to something interesting, it will notify you and if you have a headset or bluetooth connected, it can even read the info to you. Field Trip can help you learn about everything from local history to the latest and best places to shop, eat, and have fun. You select the local feeds you like and the information pops up on your phone automatically, as you walk next to those places.”
The app is available for free download from iTunes App Store.
Update 03/09: Google plan to start using +Hangouts screensharing feature for its support as the feature is especially useful because “a Google employee can see what’s on your computer screen, and eliminates the need to take screenshots.”
“Would you like to share your screen with Google? By clicking ‘Share my screen’ button you will enable screensharing. Your microphone and camera will remain off and your computer will be visible to your Google representative. Please make sure you close anything you do not want your representative to see. To turn off screensharing at any time click the ‘Stop sharing my screen’ button,” reads the text of the screensharing feature.
To share your screen:
- Click Screenshare on the left side of your screen.
- In the window that pops up, choose your desktop or choose the window you want to present.
- Click Share Selected Window.
You can stop sharing your screen at any time by clicking Screenshare again.