diTii.com Digital News Hub

Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about latest news and more.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp (more information)


Fake WordPress site distributing 2.6.4 backdoored release

If you mistype WordPress.org as Wordpresz.org, you’ll land at fake site, distributing 2.6.4 — purposely backdoored in order to steal the content of cookies from those who’ve installed it, potentially leading to to hijacking of their WordPress blogging platforms for malicious purposes. Not only is the fake domain registered several days ago, but also, it’s sharing IP ( with a fake online pharmacy – livepills.com.

The backdoored pluggable.php file attempts to send the stolen data to wordpresz.org/tuk.php which is still accepting cookies if the requests are properly formatted. The spoof is a nearly perfect combination of social engineering, typosquatting and the natural EstDomains connection as the domain registrar, nearly perfect in the sense that they couldn’t duplicate the whole WordPress.org potentially raising suspicion at the end user’s end.

Full Article

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Get Latest News

Subscribe to Digital News Hub

Get our daily newsletter about the latest news in the industry.
First Name
Last Name
Email address
Secure and Spam free...