Facebook Camera app for iPhone version 1.1 added the ability to add photos to albums.
With Facebook Camera, you can share photos on Facebook faster than ever, and see what friends are up to in a feed of nothing but their photos.
In addition, you can also see all the likes and comments for your photos in one place and get your photo-related Facebook notifications within the app.
“Facebook has been working on making photos better across the board. First, the photos team worked on improving performance and the viewing experience by increasing photo resolution and creating the option to view photos full size. On timeline, we added space for a cover photo so you can make your favorite photos front and center. By the time I joined the company through the acquisition of my startup Gowalla, the photos team was heavily focused on improving its mobile experience,” posted Scott Raymond.
Features of Facebook Camera app include:
- Post a bunch of photos at once
- See friends’ latest photos in one place
- Play with crops and filters
- Tag friends, add captions and say where you are
- See photos from different apps
- New in Version 1.1
- Notifications for tags, likes and comments
- It’s possible to add photos to an album you choose, or create a new album
- Likes and comments are available for posts with multiple photos
- Likes are available for individual comments
- Names and profile pictures display for everyone who liked a photo
- Long captions are easier to read when you expand photos to fullscreen
- Translated to 10+ languages including French, German, Japanese, Italian, Chinese, and Spanish
Get the Facebook Camera for iPhone from the iTunes App Store.
A recent change to Facebook’s Timeline begun displaying the location of the user who submitted the post. “The map appears as a hyperlinked location tag at the end of a wall post after the “Like . . .” and “Date.””
However, the feature has raised privacy concerns among many users who wish to keep their location private. The new Map/Places feature is forcing people to accept, even though surveys have shown 70% of internet users hate it. The map is part of the Timeline. Timeline cannot be removed, because Facebook isn’t allowing people to revert back to the previous profile design.
Hence, you can’t get rid of the map. A Facebook community forum thread explains how to remove both the links to the map and location tags on the map itself. Per Facebook thread:
To remove the LINK to the map from the front of your Timeline, hover your mouse cursor over the icon that links to the map. A smaller icon will appear on the map icon which looks like a small pencil in a box. Move your mouse over that pencil and a drop down box will appear with an option to remove the LINK to the map. This same technique can be used to remove other unwanted links from your Timeline.
HOWEVER, remember that just because you remove the LINK to the map, that does NOT disable the map itself. The map will still be active on your Timeline and can be accessed at its own URL (facebook.com/your user name/map/). So in order to fully protect your privacy, you need to also untag all locations that appear on the map.
In order to find all of your posts that are tagged with a location so that you can remove the location tags (and/or add higher privacy settings to those posts), follow these steps:
- Go into your ACTIVITY LOG on your Timeline.
- Click the button in the top right which says “All”
- Choose “POSTS WITH LOCATION”
That will show you all posts on your profile which have location tags so that you can remove the tags. Removing the tags from the posts will remove them from the map, and protect your privacy. I strongly recommend removing all tags.
You may also need to remove the areas of your profile that say where you live or alter the privacy settings so that this information doesn’t appear on the map.
Remember, even after you have removed all the tags and removed the link to the map, it is still there, and is always part of the Timeline.
Facebook also said that they would begin a drive to remove fake “Likes”. The company said that it has increased its use of automated tools that can detect and remove fraudulent “Likes”.
“On average, less than 1 percent of Likes on any given page will be removed, providing they and their affiliates have been abiding by our terms,” Facebook said. Adding, “These newly improved automated efforts will remove those Likes gained by malware, compromised accounts, deceived users, or purchased bulk Likes,” the company said.
Just as “a click-jacking attacks trick users into visiting a page and artificially inflating traffic numbers, automated Like operations or “Like-jacking” can artificially inflate the perceived popularity of a page or company, allowing the attacker to collect a higher affiliate rate from an advertiser.
“These improvements to our site integrity systems benefit both users and brands alike,” the company said. “Users will continue to connect to the Pages and Profiles they authentically want to subscribe to, and Pages will have a more accurate measurement of fan count and demographics.”