This feature is part of the Shadow Copy feature in Windows Vista. This is a really helpful feature that has saved me numerous times! It essentially makes incremental back-ups of your work - so if you accidentally delete content, you can find it again and recover it with a single click. Anyone who has modified a document and clicked "save" instead of "save as" will appreciate Previous Versions!
Source:→ Windows Experience Blog