Spammers and malware distributors trying to work their way into customers’ networks of trusted Messenger contacts by setting up a number of Windows Live ID accounts and use these accounts to send invitations to their potential targets. If you accept a spammer's invitation, they can then download your list of friends to find new people to target, and send messages to you and your friends trying to attract you to spam, phishing, or malware websites. ‘Starting this week Windows Live team are deploying a number of immediate new steps to block and root out these spammers, and to limit the number of invitations they can send. You can also take steps to protect yourself. Click the View profile link in the invitation, to try to figure out if it’s from a spammer or an old friend. Viewing profile won’t hurt you or your computer, and it won’t add spammer to your network, so it’s always a good first step. If you still don’t recognize this person, and think they really might be a spammer, then don’t answer the door -- and let us know by clicking the check boxes to block them and report them as spammers,’ says Live team.