Giving users more control Facebook is launching a new feature that provide an option to unfollow a person, Page or a group temporarily for up to 30 days. This new feature launching over the next week is called "Snooze."
With Snooze, "you don't have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone's posts for a short period of time," says Facebook.
Just select Snooze in the top-right drop-down menu of a post, you won't see content from those people, Pages or groups in your News Feed for that time period.
Once Snoozed, these people, Pages, and or groups will not be notified. However, a notification will remind you just before the Snooze period is about to end.
The Snooze setting can be reversed at any time.
Other features to control your News Feed, like Unfollow, Hide, Report and See First are available as well.
In an another update to News Feed involves ranking will help surface video, intent and repeat viewership. This change takes two factors into account:
- Intent matters. With this update, videos from Pages that people proactively seek out, by using Search or going directly to a Page for example, will see greater distribution on News Feed.
- Repeat viewership matters. Also with this update, we will show more videos in News Feed that people return to watch from the same publisher or creator week after week.
Wath this video to learn more about how Snooze feature works: