Partnering with Facebook, Microsoft, Twitter, and YouTube together to help curb the spread of online terrorist content, Google will be creating a shared industry database of it's calling "hashes." "A unique digital 'fingerprints' for violent terrorist imagery or terrorist recruitment videos or images that we have removed from our services," Google said.
"By sharing this information with each other, we may use the shared hashes to help identify potential terrorist content on our respective hosted consumer platforms," Google adds. Participating companies can "add hashes of terrorist images or videos that are identified on one of our platforms to the database."
"Other participating companies can then use those hashes to identify such content on their services, review against their respective policies and definitions, and remove matching content as appropriate."
In other safety news, Google announced a new personal "safety app" that lets you share your location with your trusted ones in "everyday situations, and in emergencies, or even when your phone is offline or you can't get to it."
In a nutshell, once the Android app is installed, you can start assigning "trusted" status to your contacts, who in turn will be able to see your activity status. Not onyl you, "who can share your actual location, even the trusted contacts can request to see your location." If don't respond within a reasonable timeframe, the location will be shared automatically with your trusted contacts.
Of course, you can stop sharing location or change your trusted contacts, even you can deny the request.
The Trusted Contacts app is currently available on Android from Play Store. The iOS users can sign here to get notified when the iOS app is available. For more information on Safety app, visit this help center.
Here's a little story on how Trusted Contacts might work, starring Elliot and Thelma (verbatim):
"Elliot heads out for a hike on his own, telling Thelma he'll meet her for coffee later. About an hour in, Elliot realizes he's strayed off the path and lost service. When Elliot doesn't show up at the coffee shop, Thelma starts to worry. Because Trusted Contacts works even if a phone is offline, Thelma requests Elliot's location and in five minutes can see that his last known location was in the middle of the canyon. Thelma calls the nearest ranger station, they send out a rescue party, and find Elliot in a few hours.
Elliot stayed at the office later than normal and notices it's awfully dark out. He opens Trusted Contacts and shares his location with Thelma. Now Thelma can walk him home — virtually. When Elliot gets home, he simply taps the banner at the top of the screen or from the lockscreen and stops sharing his location," google explains.