In the Server Core installation option, there is a way to remove the server roles and optional features from the disk, to free up more space. In addition to reducing disk usage, this could be used to ensure an administrator doesn’t add a role or feature to a server that is supposed to perform a fixed function.
Warning: This is a one way operation, once you remove a role or feature there is NO way to bring it back. If you realize later that you need the role or feature the only option is to reinstall.
To do this:
1. Run: pkgmgr /up:<package to remove>
2. Reboot – you can remove multiple packages before rebooting.
3. Wait about 30 minutes for the disk cleanup to occur.