Google Plus rolled out a new option to “Ignore people,” in addition to the existing (and stronger) option to Block them, announced Olga Wichrowska on her Google+ page.
When you ignore somebody, which can be done by clicking “Ignore” next to their name via a notification from the black Google+ bar, from the Notifications stream, or by highlighting their name from your Circles page, you will no longer see their posts in the Incoming stream, get notifications about their activities, or see them on your Circles page. If you hit the ignore button on someone, that person won’t be notified by Google+.
You’ll then see a message that the person wasn’t added to your circles, and you’ll be given the option to undo this or go further and block the person.
Blocking someone will remove the person from your extended circles, you’ll no longer see their posts in the Stream, they won’t see anything you share, and they won’t be able to comment on your posts. In addition to blocking in the same locations as where the ignore option exists, you can block anyone by visiting their profile. You can unblock profiles by visiting their profile page or via your Circles page (click the More Actions link, then View blocked).
Kathleen Ko also announced a change to the Notification menu and “view all notifications” page. Now you will see who added you on Google+ as well as who added you back on Google+.
Ko in here Google+ post said:
First, we think it feels very different to get a notification when someone adds you to a circle and when someone you already have in a circle adds you back. So we’re splitting this up into two different kinds of notifications: Added you on Google+ and Added you back on Google+. We’re making this change in the Notifications menu and on the ‘view all’ Notifications page.
As for Ignore, it’s like saying “I’m not interested” – clicking it means that we hide the notification itself and remove the posts that person is sharing with you from your Incoming stream. We don’t notify the person that you’ve ignored them.
If you want to ignore several people that have added you on Google+, you can click the new Ignore all button in the Notifications menu to ignore them all at once.
Video Transcript of Wichrowska Google+ post:
Ignoring someone is basically saying you’re just not interested
- maybe you don’t know them, or maybe you don’t want to see what they’re sharing. When you do Ignore someone, a few things happen on Google+, including:
- you won’t see any of their posts in the Incoming stream
- you won’t get notifications about their activities
- you won’t see them on your Circles page
The Ignore option is available from multiple places on Google+. And importantly: we don’t notify people that you’ve ignored them. Let me show you how it works:
- first, you can ignore someone from Notifications in the Google+ bar, or the Notifications stream. Just click Ignore next to their name, and you’ll see a confirmation message.
- you can also ignore someone from Incoming, and again you’ll see a confirmation message.
- finally, you can Ignore one or more people at once from your Circles page. Just highlight them, and click ignore.
If you change your mind you can always find the list of people you’ve ignored under More Actions on the Circles page. You can un-ignore directly from here, or by adding people back to a circle.
Blocking someone is much stronger than Ignoring them – it’s basically saying you don’t want anything to do with them on Google+. After you choose this option, a number of important things happen on Google+, including:
- they’re removed from your circles and your extended circles
- you won’t see any of their new posts in the Stream
- they won’t see anything you share with your circles
- and they can’t comment on your posts
Block is available on a person’s profile, and everywhere Ignore appears. And once again: we don’t notify people that you’ve blocked them. Let me show you.
- here I am on +Vic Gundotra’s profile. I can block Vic, confirm, and he’s blocked. And if I change my mind, I can unblock Vic directly from his profile
- another place to block someone is from the notifications widget. Click on your notification, click ignore, and you’ll have a second option to Block them if that’s more appropriate
- finally, I can always unblock people from my Circles page. I just click More Actions, View blocked, and unblock them
Here is the video explaining new “Ignore” Option, and “Block” Explained:
A couple other recent Google+ updates:
- Photos of You: You can now view all the people you’ve been tagged with on one page by clicking on the photos icon and then clicking on the “Photos of you” link.
- Reshare Posts from Google+ Android App: If you have the latest version of the Google+ Android app, you can now reshare posts. Tap the post, choose your Circle, add a comment, and share. This is also coming soon to iOS and the mobile web.