diTii.com Digital News Hub

Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about latest news and more.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp (more information)


Fake Google AdWords email

Some Internet users have received recently a “Google” notification asking them to “update their billing information”. Hmm, quite weird I would say, Google has never contacted me before in order to request such a thing.

Let’s have a closer look at the email message: it is titled “Please Update Your Billing Information” and seems to be sent by adwords-noreply[at]google[dot]com. The text message reads: “Dear Google AdWords Customer! In order to update your billing information, please sign in to your AdWords account at https://adwords.google.com, and update your billing information.” The end of the email, “Sincerely, The Google AdWords Team ,” could make you swear that the message came from Google.

OK, and now the juicy info. As you can see in the adjacent pictures, the links are supposed to get you to the Google AdWords page. There’s even the https URI scheme meant to represent a secure HTTP connection. However, moving the mouse over the link (without clicking it!), shows the real link in the status bar of your browser/email client: http://adwords.google.com.*****.cn/select/Login/. That’s right, it’s a fake domain hosted in China. Classic, I would say but let’s see some other details.

Clicking on it gets you to a fake Google AdWords website that looks similar to the genuine one. In case you’re one of those na

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!