Facebook Intro Message Reactions and Mentions for Messenger

Reactions and Mentions will also be available for Work Chat in Workplace, global communications platform for organizations to collaborate better.

Share online:

Messenger introducing today two new features Message Reactions and Mentions for improving group conversations.

"Messenger Reactions use Messenger emojis, and work in one on one conversations as well as group conversations and can be used to comment on any message — text, stickers, videos, GIFs and even other emoji," writes Facebook.

With Reactions, users can react to an individual message with a specific emotion, for quickly showing acknowledgement or expressing oneself. To add a reaction to a message, press and hold any message, then tap to select from the emojis categories love, smile, wow, sad, angry, yes and no emojis.

When someone reacts to a message you sent, you'll see a small animation when you're looking at the conversation. The reactions can be seen in the lower corner of the message, alongside a number indications of reactions to the message. And, by tapping on the emojis, "you can see which members of the conversation reacted and in which way."

And, when the Messenger is closed, a notification pops-up when someone reacted to the message and how.

Facebook Messenger Reactions Messenger Reactions Notifications
1. Facebook Messenger Reactions 2. Messenger Reactions Notifications
Messenger Reactions Animated Notification Messenger Reactions Notification on lockscreen
1. Messenger Reactions Animated Notification 2. Messenger Reactions Notification on lockscreen>

"Mentions" directly notify someone when they've been mentioned in a conversation. To get started with mention, just type "@" symbol or start typing first few letters of the name or nickname of the person you want to notify and select them from the list. Once the message is sent, it'll appear with highlighted text for others in the group to see.

When a person is mentioned, a new notification will let them know they were called out specifically. That makes it easy to jump right back in to the conversation to answer someone's question or to provide a response.

Everyone in the conversation can see the call out in conversation, and everyone gets a notification just like before, but only the specified person in the group conversation gets a notification that they have been mentioned. You can choose to turn off these notifications at any time.

Both features will begin rolling out today and will be available globally in the coming days.

Facebook Mentions

About The Author

Deepak Gupta is a IT & Web Consultant. He is the founder and CEO of diTii.com & DIT Technologies, where he’s engaged in providing Technology Consultancy, Design and Development of Desktop, Web and Mobile applications using various tools and softwares. Sign-up for the Email for daily updates. Google+ Profile.