3 Ways to Move Google Drive Files and Folders into Team Drives

As a G Suite administrator, you can allow users to move individual files, migrate existing Drive folders to Team Drives (super admins and delegated users).

Share online:

Google had launched Team Drives in March, and now starting today, three new ways are introduced to help G Suite admin move the exisiting content from traditional Google Drive locations e.g. My Drive into these new shared spaces.

There are a few important things to remember when moving files and folders into Team Drives:

  • Any file moved to a Team Drive will then be owned by the Team Drive—not an individual.
  • Moved files will remain in the user's Shared with me and Recent locations, but they'll be removed from all other Drive locations (e.g. My Drive).
  • A file's permissions and sharing link will not change when it's moved into a Team Drive. People who aren't Team Drive members will still be able to access that file with their previously granted permissions.

As a G Suite admin, you can now allow users in your domain to migrate their files, as long as they have Edit access to those files and the current file owners are members of the destination Team Drive. Do this by enabling this setting in the Admin console – Apps -> G Suite -> Drive and Docs -> Migration settings -> User options -> Allow users to migrate files to Team Drives.

Secondly, super admin with view access or higher to an existing My Drive folder, can move folders to a Team Drive by using the following steps:

  • Carefully review the notes at the top of this article to understand the impact of moving files and folders to a Team Drive.
  • For the existing folders, ask users to grant view access or higher to your administrator account.
  • Ask your users to add you as a member of the Team Drive where the folders will be moved.
  • Tip: You must have edit or full access.
  • In a web browser, open drive.google.com and confirm that you're signed in to your administrator account.
  • In the top-right corner, click the account profile picture.
  • Sign out and sign back in to your administrator account, if necessary.
  • In the browser window, expand the My Drive and Team Drives folders to display the My Drive folders you want to move, and the Team Drive folders where you will move them.
  • Drag the My Drive folders to the Team Drive folder.
  • Accept the confirmation message to begin the migration process
Team Drives: Delegate admin migration rights to individual users
G Suite: Delegate admin migration rights to individual users

Lastly, super admin can now delegate admin rights to any user, so they'll then be able to move My Drive folders into Team Drives. Follow these steps to grant these admin migration rights:

  • Sign in to your Google Admin console.
  • Sign in using your administrator account (does not end in @gmail.com).
  • From the Admin console dashboard, go to Users.
  • Click a user's name to open their account page.
  • Scroll to the bottom and click Show more.
  • Click Admin roles and privileges.
  • Tip: To see the privileges granted by the user's current roles, click View Privileges.
  • Click Create new roles.
  • Tip: Learn how to create custom administrator roles.
  • On the Privileges tab, select Services > Drive and Docs, and check Move any file or folder into Team Drives box.
  • Click Save changes.

About The Author

Deepak Gupta is a IT & Web Consultant. He is the founder and CEO of diTii.com & DIT Technologies, where he's engaged in providing Technology Consultancy, Design and Development of Desktop, Web and Mobile applications using various tools and softwares. Sign-up for the Email for daily updates. Google+ Profile.