"Associates" in Google Webmaster Tools Now Helps Organizing Your YouTube Presence

Google Webmaster Tools added a new feature today, now allowing webmasters to add "associates" -- "trusted users who can act on behalf of their site in other Google products."Pleas note, Unlike site owners and users, "associates can't view site data or take any site actions in Webmaster Tools, but they are authorized to perform specific […]

Google Webmaster Tools added a new feature today, now allowing webmasters to add "associates" -- "trusted users who can act on behalf of their site in other Google products."

Pleas note, Unlike site owners and users, "associates can't view site data or take any site actions in Webmaster Tools, but they are authorized to perform specific tasks in other products," informs Google.

Through associates, webmasters can easily and safely allow others to associate their website with YouTube channels.

For this initial launch, members of YouTube's partner program that have created a YouTube channel for their site can now link the two together. "By doing this, your YouTube channel will be displayed as the "official channel" for your website," posted Konstantin Roslyakov, Software Engineer.

Google says they plan to support integration with additional Google products in the future.

Here are the steps to managing associates:

To add or change associates within Webmaster Tools:

  1. On the Webmaster Tools home page, click the site you want.
  2. Under Configuration, click Associates.
  3. Click Add a new associate.
  4. In the text box, type the email address of the person you want to add.
  5. Select the type of association you want.
  6. Click Add.

    Here are the pictorial presentaion of the above steps 2-6:



It's also possible for users to request association from a site's webmaster within YouTube:
  1. Log in to your YouTube partner account.
  2. Click on the user menu and choose Settings > Associated Website.
  3. Fill in the page you would like to associate your channel with.

  4. Click Add. If you're a verified owner of the site, you're done. But if someone else in your organization manages the website, the association will be marked Pending. The owner receives a notification with an option to approve or deny the request.
  5. After approval is granted, navigate back to this page and click Refresh to complete the association.