World IPv6 Launch Takes Effect on June 6, 2012 Midnight GMT

A key milestone in the evolution of the Internet is just around the corner with the World IPv6 launch taking effect at Midnight GMT on June 6, 2012 (June 5 at 5pm Pacific, 8pm Eastern)."Yahoo!, along with Bing, Facebook, Google, and other web service providers will be adding IPv6 support permanently. Most likely, the launch […]

World IPv6 Launch at Midnight GMT on June 6, 2012

A key milestone in the evolution of the Internet is just around the corner with the World IPv6 launch taking effect at Midnight GMT on June 6, 2012 (June 5 at 5pm Pacific, 8pm Eastern).

"Yahoo!, along with Bing, Facebook, Google, and other web service providers will be adding IPv6 support permanently. Most likely, the launch will be totally transparent to users. As the browser will automatically use the best available protocol. If you have the new protocol available through your ISP, it will be used automatically. If not, you'll use the old protocol automatically," posted Jason Fesler, IPv6 Evangelist, Yahoo.

To avoid problems reaching web sites as a result of the IPv6 upgrades, you can check for this ahead of time by using the web browser test on this IPv6 help page.

The regions where deploying IPv6 will cause unacceptable delays, will continue using the legacy Internet IPv4 protocol.

The current IPv4 protocol will continue for years to come, as it'll take time for all ISPs as well home users to be fully ready for IPv6.

To get a IPv6, check with your ISP, who can advice you which home routers will be compatible with their particular IPv6 deployment. IT professional, who need an IPv6, can use an IPv6 tunnel to bring the technology into your home or office.

"Tunnels are a convenient way to get early access to IPv6, and do early testing of your products. Keep in mind that tunnels may bypass your firewalls; be sure to do a security review and protect yourself adequately."