Microsoft Kills Bing Visual Search Feature, Discontinues "Web Activities" From July 2012

Microsoft has dropped Visual Search feature from its Bing decision engine…the feature was first announced in September of 2009. The link www.bing.com/visualsearch to Visual Search is now dead, and no longer works. When reached a Microsoft spokesperson reportedly stated, "Last fall, we began the process of removing Visual Search galleries on Bing. Like all of […]

Bing Visual Search Decommissioned

Microsoft has dropped Visual Search feature from its Bing decision engine…the feature was first announced in September of 2009. The link www.bing.com/visualsearch to Visual Search is now dead, and no longer works.

When reached a Microsoft spokesperson reportedly stated,

"Last fall, we began the process of removing Visual Search galleries on Bing. Like all of our betas, Visual Search was part of an on-going effort to better understand how we can offer the best search experience possible.

We learned a lot from the Visual Search beta and we'll apply that knowledge to Bing as part of our continuing effort to help users 'do' more, while keeping our offerings visually appealing. This does not affect nor should be confused with Image Search, which will remain a key feature for us."

Microsoft has also recently made some changes to its Messenger Social and Windows Live Profile services, re-focussing the purpose of these services include:

Discontinuing "web activities", which simply shared updates to other Messenger friends, while retaining and continuously improving the "connected services" (such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Google, and more). In fact, Microsoft has already removed all the "web activities" from Windows Live Profile's Services page. All you see left is the below services, which gives you a good indication of which services will be improved upon in the near future.

Users are now presented with the following message:

Removing unnecessary profile information such as "Favorite things", General profile info, Education info, and Social info, whilst retaining core contact information. Users visiting the Favorite things page are now greeted with the following message: