Now Grant Limited Access to Your Site's Data and Settings in Google Webmaster Tools

A new feature in Google Webmaster Tools launched today allows verified site owner to grant limited access to your site's data and settings in Webmaster Tools. "You've had the ability to grant full verified access to others for a couple of years," Google blogged.Google also allows to grant full verified access to others for past […]

A new feature in Google Webmaster Tools launched today allows verified site owner to grant limited access to your site's data and settings in Webmaster Tools. "You've had the ability to grant full verified access to others for a couple of years," Google blogged.

Google also allows to grant full verified access to others for past couple of years.

Google allows granting limited acces to data and setting in webmaster tools

In order to grant permission, on the Webmaster tools home page, clicking the "Manage site" drop-down menu you'll see the menu option that was previously titled "Add or remove owners" is now "Add or remove users."

"Selecting the "Add or remove users" menu item will take you to the new User administration page where you can add or delete up to 100 users and specify each user's access as "Full" or "Restricted"," Google explained.

"Users added via the User administration page are tied to a specific site. If you become unverified for that site any users that you've added will lose their access to that site in Webmaster Tools. Adding or removing verified site owners is still done on the owner verification page which is linked from the User administration page."

granting access permission in Google Webmaster

Google notes that granting a user "Full" permission means that they will be able to view all data and take most actions, such as changing site settings or demoting sitelinks. "When a user's permission is set to "Restricted" they will only have access to view most data, and can take some actions such as using Fetch as Googlebot and configuring message forwarding for their account. Restricted users will see a "Restricted Access" indicator at various locations within Webmaster Tools," Google explained.

To see which features and actions are accessible for Restricted users, Full users and site owners, you can refer to this Permissions Help Center article.

Also, at SMX West last week, Tiffany Oberoi of from Google shared that Google has sent over 700,000 messages to webmasters via Google Webmaster Tools in January and February 2012. That is more than the total number of messages Google sent in 2011 and almost more than what Google has sent since launching Google Webmaster Tools message center.