Making Photo Tagging Easier with Google+ Find My Face; +1 buttons Hidden by Default on Google SERPs

Google+ over the next few days will be rolling out a new 'opt-in' feature called "Find My Face," which will help your friends and other people tag your photos if you are in their pictures, and help you tag them if they have activated Find My Face. The feature is disabled by the default and […]

Google+ over the next few days will be rolling out a new 'opt-in' feature called "Find My Face," which will help your friends and other people tag your photos if you are in their pictures, and help you tag them if they have activated Find My Face.

The feature is disabled by the default and can be enabled from the Google+ settings page. "We recognize that Google has to be extra careful when it comes to these [privacy] issues. Face recognition we will bring out once we have acceptable privacy models in place," said a Google employee.

VentureBeat concludes that "by making a simple opt-in procedure, Google will let the 'privacy-schmivacy' set enjoy the benefits of the new tech while sidestepping any accusations of dirty dealing from those who take privacy a bit more seriously".

Turning on Find My Face in Google+

Google says that it will share this data with the people you know, which probably means the people from your circles. Of course, you can always "approve or reject those photos where you are tagged," said Google.

"Around the holidays, many of us get together with friends and family, and if you're like me, you take lots of photos! Tagging those photos can be a lot of work. So today we're launching Find My Face, an easier way to tag photos of yourself and your friends. By turning on Find My Face, Google+ can prompt people you know to tag your face when it appears in photos. Of course, you have control over which tags you accept or reject, and you can turn the feature on or off in Google+ settings. Find My Face will be rolling out over the next few days," informs Google.

Find My Face in Google Plus

In other, Google news, +1 buttons on Google search results are now only displayed when you mouse over the results. If you have +1'd a page, the button will be displayed by default to highlight the result.

In other search-related news, the preferences page has a new interface with custom controls, while the advanced search page switched back to the old interface.

+1 button on Google Search Results appearing when mouse over

+1'd button displayed by deafult on Google Search Results

Google Seach Settings Page