Google+: 'Who Can Notify You' Setting Let You Control Your Inbound Notifications

A new Google Plus feature has just been announced: the ability to control who can send you notifications. In a Google+ announcement post by Kathleen Ko, she says "Circles give you control over who you share with on Google+ and who you see content from. Many of you have asked for similar controls over who […]

A new Google Plus feature has just been announced: the ability to control who can send you notifications. In a Google+ announcement post by Kathleen Ko, she says "Circles give you control over who you share with on Google+ and who you see content from. Many of you have asked for similar controls over who can send you notifications, so today we're rolling out a new option in Google+ settings: "Who can notify you.""

The "Who can notify you" setting to extended circles is set as the default, but you can change this to be Your circles, Anyone, or a custom selection of specific circles and individuals.

You can update your settings at here.

This setting controls who you'll get notifications from, if they:

  • "Share with you individually
  • Select 'Notify about this post' (when sharing to a circle you're in)
  • +Mention your name
  • Invite you to a hangout
  • Invite you to play or send you messages from a game," said Ko.

You'll still be notified if someone comments on one of your posts or adds you to a circle.

"When you share something in the stream, you might notice an option to share with your extended circles. Your extended circles are like your circles' circles. Content shared with your extended circles could appear in the Incoming stream of people who are one degree removed from you with certain conditions--namely that we'll only include people whose association with people you know is already visible to you.

For example, let's say Nediva is in one of your circles, and Jadon is in one of Nediva's circles. You don't know Jadon and he's not in any of your circles. If Nediva chooses to have Jadon visible on her profile among the people in her circles, and you choose to share with your extended circles, your content could appear in both Nediva and Jadon's streams.

You aren't able to see a complete list of the people included in your extended circles--it's a collection of people that's frequently changing.

Your extended circles may also be used to help generate suggestions of people Google+ thinks you may know," explains Google.