Restrict Access to Sensitive Areas of Bing Webmaster Tools to Protect Your Site from Accidental Search Index Removal

Microsoft's Bing Webmaster is providing a feature to restricting access to sensitive areas of webmaster tools, and render them "read only" for assigned individuals to help webmaster reduce the risk associated with their websites having been removed from a search index."By managing user access levels, you can control who has full access as an Admin, […]

Microsoft's Bing Webmaster is providing a feature to restricting access to sensitive areas of webmaster tools, and render them "read only" for assigned individuals to help webmaster reduce the risk associated with their websites having been removed from a search index.

"By managing user access levels, you can control who has full access as an Admin, who can read and export data and who can read only. This ensures that accidental blocks on content folders, or even the entire website, cannot happen without direct action by a select set of individuals. Your job is to ensure those with full access understand how to use the tools and their functionality," notes Webmaster Center blog.

Here are the steps:

"Start by selecting the domain you want to enable levels of user access for. Look to the left hand side to see the Settings: Users option.

Click on the Users link to enter the control space.


Click on the Add User button to add new members and set their level of access control. You'll need to sign them up with a LiveID to add them into the control panel if they don't already have a Hotmail or Live.com email account.

To complete their enrollment, enter their LiveID email, set the areas of access they can have. You can specify the entire website's data, narrow it to a subdomain only, or even restrict access to data and controls affecting only a folder.

The next step is to select the levels of access they have from one of the three radio button options. Click Submit to complete the enrollment and for their access to be live. You can remove or modify a person's access at any time as an Administrator," explains Webmaster Center blog.

[Source: Webmaster Center blog]