Refreshed User Interface Design for Google Web History Goes Live!

Another Google product received the user interface update to make it more consistent with Google+'s look and feel, as part of Google's multi-month initiative to improve the user experience across it products and services. The product "Google Web History," is a service enabled by default when you create a Google account. It saves all your […]

Another Google product received the user interface update to make it more consistent with Google+'s look and feel, as part of Google's multi-month initiative to improve the user experience across it products and services. The product "Google Web History," is a service enabled by default when you create a Google account. It saves all your searches and the search results you click so you can quickly find them later and to help Google personalize results. It's called "Web History" instead of "Search History" because Google Toolbar has a feature that lets you send Google your browsing history.

The new interface seems to be optimized for removing searches, not for browsing your history. There's a huge checkbox button at the top of the page and a button for removing "all Web History". While it's nice to see that Google doesn't hide the button for deleting search/browsing history, using a button for such a rare and destructive action feels wrong. It's like placing a button labeled "Delete all your messages" in Gmail's toolbar.

The previous interface of Google Web History included a special mode for removing items. When you clicked "remove items", Google added checkboxes next to the items and a "remove" button. The standard interface included star icons so you can quickly bookmark pages.