Do You ? + Q? Chrome for Mac Now Warn You Before Quitting

In Chrome, have you ever accidentally hit when you meant to hit W?Google today added a new feature in Chrome for Mac that can help keep you from losing your work. "On the Mac, Chrome can now warn you before quitting so that you don't accidentally quit the browser when you're just trying to close […]

In Chrome, have you ever accidentally hit when you meant to hit W?

Google today added a new feature in Chrome for Mac that can help keep you from losing your work. "On the Mac, Chrome can now warn you before quitting so that you don't accidentally quit the browser when you're just trying to close a single tab," revealed Google.

To enable this feature, "go to Chrome menu in the upper-left and select Warn Before Quitting. The next time you press , a floating window will appear, instructing you to Hold to Quit. This way, if your hand slips and you press Q instead of W, you can go right on browsing without interruption. If you really do want to quit, hold down as it says and, after a second, all the windows will fade away and you can release the keys. If you want to skip this warning and quit quickly, you can just press twice," Google explained.

As a side note, "If you ever accidentally close a tab or window, you can use Chrome's tab restore feature to get it back. Simply press shift + T, which'll reopen the most recently closed tab or window. Just like the Undo command in word processor, you can use this shortcut multiple times to repeatedly reopen closed tabs."

You can also find tabs you've recently closed on the bottom of the New Tab page, or in the History menu.

[Source: Google Mac blog]