Google Chrome Now Warns Users About Malicious Downloads

Google's Safe Browsing has done a lot of good for the web, yet the Internet remains rife with deceptive and harmful content. It's easy to find sites hosting free downloads that may even perform actions without the user's consent, such as displaying spam ads, performing click fraud, or stealing other users' passwords. Such sites usually […]

Google's Safe Browsing has done a lot of good for the web, yet the Internet remains rife with deceptive and harmful content. It's easy to find sites hosting free downloads that may even perform actions without the user's consent, such as displaying spam ads, performing click fraud, or stealing other users' passwords. Such sites usually don't attempt to exploit vulnerabilities on the user's computer system. Instead, they use social engineering to entice users to download and run the malicious content.

Today on May 4th, Google released a new feature that aims to protect users against these kinds of downloads, starting with malicious Windows executables. The new feature will be integrated with Google Chrome and will display a warning if a user attempts to download a suspected malicious executable file:

"This warning will be displayed for any download URL that matches the latest list of malicious websites published by the Safe Browsing API. The new feature follows the same privacy policy currently in use by the Safe Browsing feature. For example, this feature doesn't enable Google to determine the URLs you are visiting" Google informs.

[Source: Google Online Security Blog]