Gmail Accidentally Reset Accounts, Users Lost All Their Correspondences

Lots of Gmail users are reporting of lost of all of their messages, after they logged in their Gmail and found that all your messages have been deleted. Here's one of the many reports from Gmail's forum:Yes, whatever the error is on Google's end (and it clearly is that, not a hack, unless it's some […]

Lots of Gmail users are reporting of lost of all of their messages, after they logged in their Gmail and found that all your messages have been deleted. Here's one of the many reports from Gmail's forum:

Yes, whatever the error is on Google's end (and it clearly is that, not a hack, unless it's some kind of inside hack) it's basically reset my account so it's like a brand-new Gmail account. My contacts are intact, but nothing else--the folders have reset to default, my signature line is blank, the "theme" is changed back to the default and--of course--every single email from the last 7 years has vanished completely.

The Google Apps Status page mentions that "this issue affects less than 0.08% of the Google Mail userbase" and "Google engineers are working to restore full access". The users that are affected "will be temporarily unable to sign in".

Here's the latest update on Google Apps Stautus, followed and earlier report:

google apps status: 1.168 am updat

A Google engineer says that the "accounts that are affected are currently fully disabled. We're in the process of changing this to be a Gmail only disable so you should regain access to other Google services soon. This will also mean email to these accounts stops bouncing and gets queued up for later delivery instead."

Google's now say that the "Google Mail service has already been restored for some users, and we expect a resolution for all users in the near future. Please note this time frame is an estimate and may change."

[Source]