Hacked Site Notifications in Google Search Results Pages

Google added a new notification to search results that helps people know when a site may have been hacked."We've provided notices for malware for years, which also involve a separate warning page. Now we're expanding the search results notifications to help people avoid sites that may have been compromised and altered by a third party, […]

Google added a new notification to search results that helps people know when a site may have been hacked.

"We've provided notices for malware for years, which also involve a separate warning page. Now we're expanding the search results notifications to help people avoid sites that may have been compromised and altered by a third party, typically for spam. When a user visits a site, we want her to be confident the information on that site comes from the original publisher," explains Google. Here's what the notification looks like:

Google search results hacked site notification

Clicking "This site may be compromised" link brings you to an article in Help Center which explains more about the notice. Meanwhile, clicking the result itself brings you to the target website, as expected.

"We use a variety of automated tools to detect common signs of a hacked site as quickly as possible. When we detect something suspicious, we'll add the notification to our search results. We'll also do our best to contact the site's webmaster via their Webmaster Tools account and any contact email addresses we can find on the webpage.

Once the problem has been fixed, the warning label will be automatically removed from our search results, usually in a matter of days. You can also request a review of your site to accelerate removal of the notice.

[tags]search results,notifications[/tags]

[Source]