OAuth Support for Google Apps APIs for Google Apps Premier, Education, and Government Editions

Until today, Google Apps administrators had to sign requests for calls to Google Apps APIs using their username and password (called ClientLogin Authorization). "Google now support for OAuth authorization on Google Apps APIs for Apps Premier, Education, and Government Editions," informed Google.There're several advantages to using OAuth:OAuth tokens can be scoped and set to expire […]

Until today, Google Apps administrators had to sign requests for calls to Google Apps APIs using their username and password (called ClientLogin Authorization). "Google now support for OAuth authorization on Google Apps APIs for Apps Premier, Education, and Government Editions," informed Google.

There're several advantages to using OAuth:

  • OAuth tokens can be scoped and set to expire by a certain date, making them more secure than using ClientLogin mechanism.
  • Using OAuth, you can create tokens that scripts may only use to access data of a particular scope when calling Apps APIs.
  • OAuth is an open source standard, making it a familiar choice for developers to work with.

Google Apps APIs that support OAuth signing mechanism are:

  1. Provisioning API
  2. Email Migration API
  3. Admin Settings API
  4. Calendar Resource API
  5. Email Settings API
  6. Audit API

To learn more about OAuth support and other administrative capacities launched in Google Apps, join a free live webinar on Sep'29th at 9am PT / 12pm EST / 5pm GMT.

[Source]