YouTube 'Unlisted Videos' Privacy Feature

YouTube added a new feature called “unlisted videos,” that lets you mark your videos as "unlisted." This means only people who’ve the link to the video will be able to watch it. It won’t appear in any of YouTube’s public pages, in search results, on your personal channel or on the browse page. It’s a […]

YouTube added a new feature called “unlisted videos,” that lets you mark your videos as "unlisted." This means only people who’ve the link to the video will be able to watch it. It won’t appear in any of YouTube’s public pages, in search results, on your personal channel or on the browse page. It’s a private video, except you don’t need a YouTube account to watch it and there is no limit to the number of people who can view it. You’ll get a link when you upload the video and then it’s up to you to decide who to share it with. Unlisted is the perfect option for that class project, video from last summer’s family reunion or your secret Broadway audition tape,” explains Google. "Even though your video willn’t appear in any of YouTube's public spaces, links to video could still appear elsewhere on web if anyone who knows video's URL shares it. It’s therefore up to you to maintain the privacy of your video and unlisted URL. You can further restrict the video at any time by returning to your account and marking ‘video as Private’," explains YouTube's help center.

[Source]