Facebooks' bugg "secretly add apps to your profile"

A Facebook bug quitely “add apps to your profile without your knowledge, when you visit certain sites while logged into Facebook. There’s no notification or prompt, Facebook window doesn’t have to be open, you don’t need to be signed in to these sites, and there is no option to opt-out anywhere in Facebook's byzantine privacy […]

A Facebook bug quitely “add apps to your profile without your knowledge, when you visit certain sites while logged into Facebook. There’s no notification or prompt, Facebook window doesn’t have to be open, you don’t need to be signed in to these sites, and there is no option to opt-out anywhere in Facebook's byzantine privacy settings,” revealed Macworld. The apps appear to be related to Facebook's latest sharing features & tools. The sites currently leaving this trail includes: Gawker network of blogs, Washington Post, TechCrunch, CNET, New York Magazine, and formspring.me. It’s important to note that opting out of new 'Instant Personalisation' feature doesn’t stop these apps from being added. Clicking 'X' will delete the app but it’ll be added once you return to the website which was deleted.

David Swain of Facebook said “In this case, there was a bug that was showing apps on a user’s Application Settings page that the user hadn’t authorized. No information was shared with those apps and user’s list of apps wasn’t shown to anyone but the user. This bug has been fixed.” Even though, if it continues, you can add “static.ak.connect.facebook.com” to your Windows hosts file (or some other blocklist) then it won't add these apps.