Google warns Latitude Users of 'Sharing Location'

Google appears to be getting a tad paranoid about its own privacy policies, as the sent out e-mail to some Latitude users, warning them that the service might be giving away their location – which’s kind of the whole point of the app – and asking them to check their settings.Hi,To protect your privacy we […]

Google appears to be getting a tad paranoid about its own privacy policies, as the sent out e-mail to some Latitude users, warning them that the service might be giving away their location – which’s kind of the whole point of the app – and asking them to check their settings.

Hi,

To protect your privacy we would like you to know that Google Latitude is running on your Android-powered device and reporting your location.

If you didn’t enable this or want to stop reporting your location please open the Maps app on your device. Go to ‘Menu’ > ‘Latitude’ > ‘Privacy’ and change your privacy settings.

Thanks,

Google Latitude Team