Google Wave 'Read-only and Restore' features

Google Wave is launching two new features to help you manage the waves you create:Read-Only Participants – creators can now change other participants on the wave between full access and read-only by clicking on their picture at the top of wave panel, and selecting access level in drop-down. You can make entire groups read-only as […]

Google Wave is launching two new features to help you manage the waves you create:

  • Read-Only Participants – creators can now change other participants on the wave between full access and read-only by clicking on their picture at the top of wave panel, and selecting access level in drop-down. You can make entire groups read-only as well, including "public" group, which includes all Google Wave users. Note that individual permissions take precedence over group permissions, so even if a group has full access, an individual can be given read-only access, and vice versa.

  • Restore from Playback – anyone with full access can now restore that wave to any previous state visible in playback. Restoring doesn’t delete anything from playback history, but adds restored state to end of the history.

  • For the Public people – Read-only and restore may help in such cases: the creator of the wave can make some participants read-only, and then restore the wave to a point they liked.
  • Future Features includes “third access setting -- 'Reply-only' -- that would let users add new blips, but prevent them from editing blips they didn’t create. And re-designing interface to let you change permissions for several participants more easily.”

[Source]